What a Weekend!

What a weekend!

Saturday started with a Girls on the Run Pre-Marathon Breakfast for the Sole Mates who were running on Sunday.  We offered bagels and coffee (kindly donated by Pick-A-Bagel on 77th & Lex) and words of encouragement! It was great to meet some of the Sole Mates and talk about all things running!

After the breakfast, I was off to the orchards!  Apple picking commenced at Lawrence Farm Orchards with LG and AN.  We were a tad late in the apple picking season so there weren’t thousands of apples to choose from, but we got a nice couple pounds of yellow delicious and empire apples.  We even got apple cider donuts and hot apple cider from their cute little store!  I’m pretty sure it’s a family run business and it completely delivered on the “let’s go pick apples and do fun fall things” idea.

IMG_1500IMG_1496

  IMG_1507

When we returned to the city, we took over FW’s beautiful kitchen and made apple crisp, a delicious dinner, and applesauce.  It was an epic fall day, it really was.

IMG_1506

Sunday morning FINALLY arrived and it was time for the New York City Marathon!  I went out in the morning by myself; I was feeling a bit emotional about being back in the running community and wanted some solo time to reflect.  I went out to First Ave (miles 17-18) and watched for a few hours as the wheel chair athletes and professional men and women passed by.  I was so inspired and in awe of these athletes.

IMG_1518 IMG_1521 IMG_1529 IMG_1531 IMG_1543 Those elite runners are so fast, it’s hard to capture them!.  Amazing.

I then proceeded to throw on a few more layers (it was WINDY as I’m sure the runners will say!) and headed to meet up with the Girls on the Run cheering squad.  There I watched more runners and cheered them on.  It’s so fun and inspiring to see everyone run by, with such looks of determination and dedication on their faces.  I love that most people put their names on the shirts now; it’s so fun to cheer for people by name and see them light up and smile when you do!  I know from experience that just one person telling you you’re doing great can make all the difference.

IMG_1515

Sporting my GOTR t-shirt and sunglasses.

IMG_1545

First Ave, miles 17-18.

I am loving reading everyone’s race recaps in the blog world!  Being there and feeling the excitement all around the city has made me want to run it again.  I’ve run 4 marathons, and it remains my absolute favorite.  And this morning, I ran around the park in honor of those who ran yesterday.  Congrats to all of you!

Did you spectate?  Did you run?  Tell me about it!

2 thoughts on “What a Weekend!

Leave a Reply

