A Practice in Flexibility

Sometimes you just have to be flexible.  I would say I am pretty flexible in all areas except running (others may disagree, ha).  Once I lay out my schedule, I get very uncomfortable moving things around.  BUT.  The reality is that life is unpredictable, and sometimes you just have to go with the flow.

I lay in bed this morning working out the details of my day, including my workout at the gym.  Later in the day, things changed.  Date night was changed a bit and so now I won’t get my workout in.  [This is why I like running in the morning, however tonight I was going to go to my abs class and do sprints…]  To anyone else, this is far from a big deal.  But to me, well let’s just say I can get a bit anxious about it.   Luckily, my rational brain took over today.  What do I want to do tonight?  I want to have date night with FW And what can I do about the workout?  Do it on Friday.  Crisis averted.

Drama queen, I know.

 

Oh, and look how I started my day!  Free fruit & bagels at the office.  WOO! I can certainly be flexible about that 🙂

Breakfast

Are you flexible about changing your workouts or do you stick to a strict schedule?

11 thoughts on “A Practice in Flexibility

  1. I try to stick to the schedule- I am so afraid that if I start changing things, I won’t get back to it! Many years of failed attempts have ingrained that fear into me…ugh BTW- your looks great. 🙂

    • I’m exactly the same! If I have to skip a scheduled run for some reason – unless it’s something like illness or something where there’s absolutely no way I could make it – then I spend the rest of the night really antsy in case it’s a sign I’m ‘falling off the wagon’ exercise wise!

  2. I think the single thing that I have heard out of my husband’s mouth over the years is “Lauren, just go with the flow.” So, yeah, being flexible about my runs and workouts is not one of my strengths! That’s why I always workout first thing in the morning, that way nothing can get in the way of my run!!

  3. I like to think that I’m flexible about my workouts, but I get so thrown off when I’ve already rationalized switching my workout from morning to evening, and then something happens and I don’t end up working out at all that day.

    Those exercise endorphins keep you happy! It’s in everyone’s best interest to make sure we all make out workouts!

    • Haha I agree, Kristina! I have to coax myself until knowing that the workout will happen at the end of the day, and then I hate if it doesn’t happen! I’m pretty sure everyone is happier when I’ve exercised 🙂

  4. aw I totally feel ya on the anxiety. I try and stick to a strict schedule until my brain goes into “second nature” mode. Then I’ll a little more lenient about making changes here and there..but I’m still seldom happy about it haha.

Leave a Reply

