Girls on the Run

Foggy morning run!  I did another 5miler around the Reservoir, and felt strong.  I hit a ton of sidewalk traffic on the way back, so I’m going to need to set out a bit earlier.  I find it frustrating to be getting stuck behind people and their dogs (who are super cute) when I’m trying to finish strong.  Any sympathizers?

Foggy Run

Last night I attended a New Volunteers Meet & Greet for Girls on the Run.  For those of you who don’t know, Girls on the Run is a non-profit organization that uses running as a way to ” inspire and motivate girls, encourage lifelong health and fitness, and build confidence through accomplishment”.   There are two 5k races per year, and coaches help their teams to prepare for and participate in the race.  The organization requires a heavy volunteer base: they need “buddies” for the runners in the races, coaches, committee heads, and special events volunteers to help run the actual event.  Another sector of the organization is the “Sole Mates” program, which is the adult athlete component.  As a Sole Mate, you pledge to run a race/triathlon and to raise money for Girls on the Run.  Girls on the Run secures spots in special races (NYC Marathon and half), but you also have the freedom to choose your own.

GOTRWhen I was in grad school, one of my running buddies was involved as a coach.  I thought it was such a great program, and vowed to volunteer once I graduated.  Graduation came and went, and I forgot.  Recently, my girl NP (I used to be her nanny) ran her first 5k!  I was SO proud of her and it prompted me to renew that vow.  So here I am, a volunteer of Girls on the Run!  Color me excited!

I signed up to be in the Sole Mates Committee.  The committee is in charge of providing all the support services for the runners: fundraising tips, organizing group runs and social events, outreach, and recruitment.  It is a small committee, with a lot of work to do!   I am so, so excited to be a part of this organization and in particular, this committee.

If you are interested in learning more, getting involved and/or donating, visit their website here.  You can learn about the organization generally, as well as be directed to a location near you.  As a runner and a girl, I can speak to the opportunities and self-esteem boost that running provides.  I encourage you to check it out!

Leave a Reply

