Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

WHAT.A.DAY.

I got lost and was late to my early morning meeting-terrible way to start the day.  I  got off at the wrong subway stop in Long Island City and to run/walk two miles.  TWO MILES.  Pretty hair begone.  And in case you don’t know, LIC is NOT a grid.  For example, 33rd street intersects with 31st? I don’t know.  I already forget.  In fact, I don’t care to remember because I’m still so cranky about being late to my meeting.  Sorry friends who live in LIC, I’ll be nice again tomorrow.

For some reason my morning sent me into a tailspin.  Next I was questioning every aspect of my life – okay mostly my career.  But it felt like every aspect.  I concluded that I am a) directionless and b) goal-less. (Note to self:  write career goals to then present to CCJ.)  Before I knew it, this tailspin landed me on salary.com where I decided to take an “Employee Archetype” questionnaire.  Great idea! I thought I would FINALLY be able to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.  Care to venture a guess on what it suggested?

Wrong.  I know you’re all wrong, because what they suggested was this:  be on a committee.  Seriously? Be on a committee is what they suggest?  To their benefit they continued on, after describing how I’m an “Every person’s person” to list the following options: construction, materials manager, building maintenance and security, and HR.  Awesome.  I am totally in the right field.

Alas, I don’t even have the skills to be in construction or building maintenance, although maybe I should think about a career change…

Hope your day was better than mine!

AQ.

Leave a Reply

