A Whole Lot of Changes

Welcome back! If you haven’t been here in a while, you haven’t missed much.  I’ve obviously made a few changes and neglected to write a few posts. I’m not completely sold on the colors and/or fonts, but it’ll do for now.  It’s kind of like rearranging a room; it feels so good to move your furniture but takes a bit to settle in.

So that’s the first change.  Second change: food.  Food, food, food…will always be a thorn in my side.  Yes, I can eat a delicious meal that someone else prepared for me and love absolutely every bite of it.  In fact, I do that quite a bit.  But preparing my own food?  Sigh.  It is such a big hurdle for me to plan meals, go to the grocery store, cook the meals, then eat them.  But alas, I realize if I am going to be a functioning adult I must tackle this.  Must.  I have running mantras to help me through tough runs; I think I need to find a cooking mantra.  Any ideas?

Last night, I put on my big girl panties and went to the grocery store.  I left with four items, only three of which are culinary: pre-cooked Perdue chicken cutlets, bag of baby carrots, bag of sugar-snap peas, and toothpaste.  Nearly – epic fail.  Firstly, Perdue cooks those cutlets so while it’s convenient to prepare in the microwave, it’s not the best bang for my buck.  Secondly, sugar-snap peas and carrots are definitely delicious, but a meal they do not make.  Lastly, I am very proud I remembered toothpaste.  That situation was desperate.

So if you’re wondering, yes I had a chicken cutlet and carrots and sugar-snap peas for dinner and I will be eating that the rest of this week.  Better than peanut butter on crackers which is what I had the night prior.  Next week I intend to do better.  Perhaps a list would help steer me in the right direction.  As my sister says, “if you see a recipe you like, just try it”.  Recipes and lists.  That’s my new plan.

My run today will be with the Niketown Running Club.  I’m not sure what tonight’s workout is, but it’s usually around 4-6 miles, sometimes with speedwork mixed in.  I don’t go every week, but I love running in the park and this group is a great way to get a higher intensity workout and add variety to a weekly run.  I tend to run harder when I run with others than I do when I’m solo; similar to the effect of running a race.  Other runners’ speeds encourage me to pick up mine!

Whew. That was a whole lot of business.  I promise I will get back to including some laughs.  Hope you are all having a good week!

AQ.

Leave a Reply

