Goodbye Naked Juices…

Workouts
Today: 30 minute run and abs class (30 min)

You all know how much I love those Naked Juices, right?  I pretty much talk about them every time the dreaded lunch topic comes up.  WELL.  My friend CD sent me this article.  Bad news folks, bad news.  The article reveals that these drinks are not in fact 100% juice as they claim to be.  

“PepsiCo has recently agreed to settle out of court for $9 million over a class action lawsuit that claimed ‘natural’ and ‘non-GMO’ on their bottles was misleading since they are made with GMO ingredients, as well as synthetic and ‘unnatural’ items”.

Lovely.  So I have been drinking a shake for lunch that I thought to be all fruits and vegetables, without added chemicals or sweeteners.  They LIED.  Because in fact, they add a whole handful of chemicals and sweeteners to these shakes.   This begs the question, who else is lying?

I’m looking into buying a juicer.  I don’t juice all the time, but I really enjoy it, especially for lunch, which you all know I hate.  Plus it’s easy to transport to work.  I don’t often go straight home after work, and it’s easier to just have a reusable bottle in my bag than a big Tupperware.  FW did some research for me (and you, if you’re interested) and these were the ones we like:

 Black and Decker, $34:

http://www.amazon.com/Black-Decker-JE2200B-Vegetable-Extractor/dp/B003ZDNKSS/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1374680729&sr=8-3&keywords=juicer

Hamilton Beach, $49.88:

http://www.amazon.com/Hamilton-Beach-67601-Mouth-Extractor/dp/B002OF3FBK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1374680729&sr=8-2&keywords=juicer  

Breville, $99.95:

http://www.amazon.com/Breville-BJE200XL-Fountain-700-Watt-Extractor/dp/B000MDHH06/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1374680729&sr=8-1&keywords=juicer

These are all on sale at Amazon right now, so the prices I wrote down are the sale prices.  The last one is FW’s pick, it’s sturdy and the reviews all say it lasts forever.  That being said, the others get great reviews as well.  I’m probably going to get the Breville, because I know I love juicing for lunch and will use it.  I would be hesitant to spend the $100 if I was unsure, though.  Food for thought!  I will keep you posted once I am an official Juicer.

Do you juice?  If so, how much? What juicer do you own?

Happy Running!!

AQ.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Naked Juices…

  1. Hi Annie,Flip and I use the breville one you listed and we have been very happy with it. I also got the Big Book of Juicing off of Amazon and they have some great juicing recipes on there. Rachel

Leave a Reply

