Working Out, Finally!

I have been having the most incredible workouts.  Incredible!  I started with the reclined bike, but now I’m doing the elliptical, for a max of thirty minutes.  That’s about the longest I can do without feeling pain, but I’ll take it!  Due to my incredibly weak leg (seriously, I blow over in a strong wind), I am doing as much strengthening as I can.  I am back to my abs class, which targets your core as well as some general conditioning, and I added some Pilates.  Funny story about my first Pilates class…

I am sitting on my mat waiting for the class to begin, and I notice that I am far younger than the majority of the class.  The women in the class were at least 30 years older than me.  So I start thinking, “Am I in the right class?  This is going to be too easy for me…”  Then the instructor turns on this soothing Yoga-ish music and I give a huge, internal (I hope) eye roll.

Turns out, I underestimated the difficulty of the class and the strength of the other women.  That class kicked my butt, and my ego.  I can’t wait to go back.  Moral of the story?  Never judge a book by it’s cover.

I also got on what I thought was a normal elliptical but turned out to be a treadmill simulator of some sort.  It was SO HARD!  There is a lot of resistance (even on level 1) for both your legs and arms, and if you don’t use your perfect form, you kind of bop around awkwardly.  I loved it.  The sweat was pouring and I’m sure I looked like a crazy person on some sort of rampage.

My lunch of the week has been cottage cheese with tomatoes and plenty of salt and pepper.  It looks like this:

I kid.  I would never in my life want or be able to make those.  It really just looks a smooshy mess that tastes incredible. And yes, I said “smooshy”.  My adorable second family added it to my vocabulary.  You know exactly what it means, don’t you?

I’ll leave you this funny story:  I was looking at the traffic sources for this blog, and the newest key word search that my blog showed up in is “fat man with handlebar mustache”.   Thanks for generating traffic to my blog, Hulk Hogan!

Hope everyone is enjoying the summer weather!

AQ.

Leave a Reply

