Ladies, Let’s Chat

I consider myself very lucky to have grown up surrounded by strong, powerful women.  My family is full of them; my friends have become them.  Being surrounded my successful women my entire life has made me a better person, and a better woman.  And the best thing is, all these women in my life that I admire have chosen different paths.  “Success” means something different to everyone, and that has always been a very strong current in my life.

So that leads me to today.  I love a good life chat.  Anyone who knows me well is aware of the fact that I will talk and talk until your ears bleed.  I love talking about who we are, what we’re doing with this wonderful life, what challenges we face, what makes us smile…I love it.  Tell me how you feel! I will always listen.  And respond, ten fold. 

Last year, my inspiring friend CCJ found this program, called The Conversation: Honest Talk with Amanda de Cadenet.  In it, de Cadnet interviews female celebrities on all sorts of subjects from power to love to money to feminism.  It has now become an online series, where they post a new interview every Saturday.  This past Saturday, the first interview on the new medium was Chelsea Handler.  If you want more, you can watch old interviews and episodes.  Check it out here.  I highly recommend it.

I was especially keen to watch Portia de Rossi’s interview.  As you may or may not know, Portia suffered from anorexia for many years.  She has written a book, Unbearable Lightness, a tough but insightful read about her journey.  A lot of people find it too upsetting, but for me it was like a big hug.  I felt so safe knowing someone else had gone to such extreme measures and made it through to the other side.  Her interview on The Conversation is mostly about her eating disorder, but she has some great things to say about being a woman and finding confidence from what’s inside, not outside.

I hope you check out the interviews and love them as much as I do!  It is an inspiring reminder to spend time on what really matters and to be happy and confident in your decisions.

Hope you all get through Monday without too much spilled coffee!

  
AQ.

Leave a Reply

