Random Monday Thoughts

What a beautiful day for the Boston Marathon!  I’m glad it’s not insanely hot like it was last year.  My incredible friend and runner LF is running again; she runs for the Joslin Diabetes Center in memory of her mother.  She’s an inspiration.  Wish I could be there to cheer you on, LF ❤

Do you want to run Boston?  I have always held qualifying for Boston as my ultimate goal.  I hope that I will be able to run marathons again someday.  But I had to put running on hold because of recovery, and now it’s on hold again.  So who knows if it will happen…only time can tell.  And right now, my big goal is to do everything I can to get out of this boot!

Did everyone have a nice weekend?  I felt really great this weekend.  Did a lot of this:

My snuggle buddy.

And a lot of reading.  Although I wanted to be running, I’m glad I rested, because the swelling went down significantly on the outside of my ankle.  I can see the ankle bone!  Yay.   Also, when I went out for brunch on Sunday morning, I felt great.  I love brunching.  I had pancakes, in an effort to get a blast of calories and satisfy my taste buds (I love pancakes, particularly FW’s).

Don’t they look good? 

My appetite has not been what it should; I’m not moving around as much and so I’m not hungry.  And eating when I’m not hungry is incredibly difficult and scares me.  So I’ve lost a little bit of weight.  Not a huge deal, but with my history, I need to be careful.  So pancakes it was!  They were delicious.  I almost finished them 🙂

I want to share with you all an amazing tool.  It’s a sleep clock.  Have you ever seen this?  You enter in the time you need to wake up, and it calculates what time you should be asleep.  It gives you four options.  For example, I need to wake up at 7:30am tomorrow.  The clock tells me that I should be asleep at 10:30pm, 12:00am, 1:30am, or 3:00am.  Clearly, I will ignore the 3:00am, but the option is there, nonetheless.  It calculates your wake up time based on REM cycles.  If you wake up in the middle of a REM cycle, you will feel groggy and sleepy; best to wake up between cycles for the most energy.  Last night I didn’t follow it’s recommendations, and I felt so groggy this morning.  But last week I actually noticed a big difference when I did as it told me.

That’s all my random Monday thoughts…Run hard and have fun Boston Marathoners!!

Leave a Reply

