Welcome!

This is my first official blog post on LoveLaughRun – woo!  I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a long, long time.  I lie.  I started one about 2 years ago, but I wasn’t in a good place and it flopped.  Or rather, I flopped.  I was in the midst of a breakdown: I had been dealing with bulimia for almost 15 years and it was finally getting the best of me.  I had cut out all foods, literally, besides nuts, fruits and vegetables (you can imagine the state of my intestines) and was purging more than I’d like to admit.  I was also running like an absolute maniac, and without food or hydration, I was in serious danger.

The good news is that I got the treatment I needed, and a year and half later, I am SO much healthier.  I honestly can’t believe it.  I have hair again!  I laugh! I smile!  I eat!  One of the best discoveries I have made is how much easier and more pleasant it is to run when you’re properly fueled.  Magic!

When I think about maintaining recovery, I think about three things: love, laughter, and running.  When I love, I love hard.  Ask my family and friends.  And the love I have surrounding me is what keeps me going, and what helped me be brave enough to seek out treatment in the first place.  As for laughter, well, I laugh all the time.  ALL.THE.TIME.  The first laugh I had in my residential treatment was with this adorable red head S.P., and it reminded me how important it is to laugh, even when things are not going your way.  Last but not least, running is my religion.  It’s true, I abused it.  And the consequence was that I had to give it up for a while.  But I love running, and I use it as motivation to stay healthy.  And while I (and my friends and family I’m sure) keep a close eye on my running habits, I feel so thankful that I am able to run again.  Because wow, I missed it.

So that’s me!  I promise not all posts will be this heavy.  Ugh.  Had to get the introductions out there.  Tonight is my favorite workout of the week – a fast 5k at the gym and then Abs Express-yippee!  Enjoy running in this beautiful spring weather!

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. i am so proud of you for finally seeing and appreciating how beautiful you are, inside and out. i miss you at work each day, but i am thrilled that you are happy and flourishing.

  2. Thank you so much Dorx! I miss seeing you everyday, too. I've always appreciated, and still do, how supportive you are. I promise I'm going to come visit this summer-I need to see you, hot mama!

Leave a Reply

